Festa #3.13 – The Book Worm/Sequel Saga – Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (2003)

We are more than halfway through with the books and at book #5 on this Special Series/Festa! And with that welcome to another edition of The Book Worm/ Sequel Saga!

Now there’s lots more of the posts on The Harry Potter Universe which you can also check out by clicking the link to the main post!

Now let’s get into it!

Cover page of the volume I owned

Title : Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Author : J K Rowling

Country of origin : United Kingdom

Language : English

Format : Series (Book 5 of 7)

Publisher : Bloomsbury

Published : 27 June 2003

Length : 766

Genre : Fantasy

Adaptations : Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (2007 film)

The fifth book begins with Harry yet again at the Dursleys waiting for his fifth year to begin, but things are different, VERY different. Voldemort is back and Harry who saw Cedric die before his eyes before it is worried and affected. However a large part of the wizarding community including the Minister of Magic refuses to believe Harry and Dumbledore that Voldemort is back and sets on a smear campaign against them. They even send a ministry official Dolores Umbridge to monitor the things at school.

It is at this time that Harry comes to know that there is a secret organisation headed by Dumbledore called The Order of the Phoenix that is working against Voldemort and his new plan. The fifth book then follows Harry’s fifth year at Hogwarts, the beginning of the dark age and the truth behind his real connection to Voldemort.

I think I started reading Harry Potter around the time this book released because without knowing it was a series (I was too young) I had bought the fifth book first and tries reading it. I did read it but after missing four books i naturally didn’t like it. It was some time later that my father bought me the entire set until book 6 (before book 7 released) and I properly read them through.

I’m not sure if it is because of that, but this volume is actually my least favourite one of all the books. Comparatively I found the plot more dragging and filler like in the whole series. Of course I don’t disagree that this book is as crucial as the others but this probably takes a back seat as far as the most important events are concerned aside from maybe the end of this book with the battle at the Ministry of Magic. In that sense it actually feels like a really long introduction to the sixth book!

Yes, I know this review is short but what did you guys think? Let me know in the comments!

2 comments

Leave a comment